Tottenham Hotspur: Sky Sports man questions Harry Kane penalty decsion

Image for Tottenham Hotspur: Sky Sports man questions Harry Kane penalty decsion

Tottenham Hotspur’s awarded penalty on Saturday would not have been overturned by VAR had referee Paul Tierney not given it in the first place. 

This is what the former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher has suggested when speaking on the latest round of Ref Watch on Sky Sports.

Spurs secured the points on Saturday against Everton with the first of their two goals coming from a Harry Kane penalty after Jordan Pickford brought him down.

After spilling Matt Doherty’s effort on goal, Pickford clumsily collided into Kane which saw the England captain denied the effort on goal.

However, Gallagher has now claimed there may not have been enough in it for VAR to overturn Tierney’s decision had he not given the penalty as it happened:

“If he hadn’t given a penalty would the VAR given a penalty? Probably not. I think this is again what I’d call a subjective one.”

TIF Thoughts on Gallagher’s comments…

It is difficult to understand where the comments surrounding this incident being anything other than a penalty are coming from with Pickford failing to get to the ball.

Was penalty the right decision?





There have been suggestions Kane has been ‘clever’ and has played the system by winning this penalty. However, for us, he and Pickford are both going for the ball which has then seen a coming together.

Pickford’s reaction after Kane converted the penalty is potentially the biggest indicator with the England goalkeeper seemingly apologising for his error.

Share this article