Celtic: VAR may have made big mistake as possible red card not punished

Image for Celtic: VAR may have made big mistake as possible red card not punished

Both the referee and VAR look to have made a big mistake during the recent  Celtic league match as they failed to punish a shocking challenge on Giorgos Giakoumakis.

It was a real mission to pick up all three points in the Scottish Premiership this weekend for the Bhoys. Indeed, it took a couple of late goals to seal a thrilling 4-2 win at home against Dundee United.

Substitutes Kyogo Furuhashi and Liel Abada had to come to the rescue for Celtic with injury-time efforts that just about got their team across the line, despite Dylan Levitt netting in the 87th minute to momentarily level the score at 2-2.

However, for all that drama, things could have been very different had one key incident been refereed differently. Indeed, opposition midfielder Craig Sibbald planted his studs in the chest of Giakoumakis but managed to get away without a red card.

Giorgos Giakoumakis fouled badly in celtic game

Do you think it sohuld have been a red card?





TIF Thoughts on the penalty and Celtic…

Presenter John McGinley certainly seemed baffled by the incident, which was reminiscent of the Nigel De Jong karate kick on Xabi Alonso in the 2010 World Cup final. Indeed, he took to Twitter to say: “Why wasn’t the referee called over to look at this?”

The only logical thing that appears to have saved Sibbald is the possibility that he did get a touch on the ball before his studs make contact with Giakoumakis. Even so, with his boot that high and angled at the Celtic man’s chest and then into his abdomen, he really is lucky not to be dismissed.

In the end though, despite this controversial decision, it wasn’t enough to prevent the Bhoys from picking up the win. They remain on top of the table for another week with 36 points after 13 games.

1 of 8

Interesting first question, how many Celtic fans were inside Ibrox?

Share this article


  • Joe says:

    I respectfully disagree with you when you say VAR missed this. What you should have said is VAR saw this and it was ignored. But mark my words, had this been a reverse incident with the big hoops man the culprit, this was a straight red.
    If the SFA/SPFL don’t get a grip and start to use this properly we ARE going to lose points and players.
    The corruption within the SFA/SPFL is running even higher than ever before.

Comments are closed.