Newcastle United

Newcastle United: Trevoh Chalobah lucky to avoid penalty after clear handball

|

An image from the most recent Newcastle United match suggests that both the referee and VAR may have made a big mistake in not awarding a penalty.

On Saturday afternoon, playing their last Premier League game before the break for the 2022 World Cup, the Magpies managed to claim an important 1-0 win.

Indeed, a single goal from Joe Willock in the 67th minute was enough to see Eddie Howe’s men beat Chelsea in front of the St James’ Park home crowd. The win confirms Newcastle will hold their spot in third place until Christmas now.

As evidenced by the scoreline, it was a fairly tight game but things could have been much easier for the Magpies had they been awarded a penalty earlier on in the game.

Indeed, as evidenced by this image shared on social media, a low cross clearly hit the hand of Trevoh Chalobah but referee Robert Jones controversially waved play on.

Referee Robert Jones denied Newcastle penalty after Trevoh Chalobah hand ball

TIF Thoughts on the incident and Newcastle United…

As seen in the image, the ball is about to fly into a dangerous area but Chalobah stops it with his hand. It’s hard to know what a penalty is these days but we’ve definitely seen those given.

Do you think it was a penalty?

Yes

Yes

No

No

The referee didn’t spot it live though and VAR opted against overruling him and so Newcastle were denied a huge opportunity to take the lead right on the stroke of halftime.

In the end, that strike later on from Willock was enough to decide the game but had the Magpies been unable to get the breakthrough, this moment would have no doubt been the subject of even greater debate in the press.

1 of 10
Newcastle-United-manager-Eddie-Howe-looks-on

Which of these United States stars has been linked with the Toon recently?

Share this article