Newcastle United rightfully saw penalty appeals turned down for a handball against Trevoh Chalobah on Saturday evening.
This is according to the Sky Sports pundit and former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher, who has been speaking on the latest edition of Ref Watch.
But there were appeals inside the first half from those in black and white as a low cross hit the arm of the Chelsea defender, who had slid to block the cross from coming in the box.
However, Gallagher has jumped to Chalobah’s defence to suggest the referee came to the correct conclusion to deny Newcastle the opportunity from the spot.
He said: “As I say, covered in law. We’ve seen this a few times. We’ve seen it last season when it first came over. We’ve seen it now, he’s sliding in, his arm’s on the floor, you know, supporting his body. It does strike him but, you know, he can’t suddenly lift his arm. It’s impossible.”
TIF Thoughts on Gallagher’s comments…
We have to agree with Gallagher on this one as he insists this call was made under the new directive from the PGMOL, which protects handball decisions against sliding incidents like this.
Should this have been a penalty?
So in this case, it would be difficult to argue against the decision when it is written in black and white, with Chalobah planting his arm down to support himself rather than to block the ball.
Although this may have frustrated some Newcastle fans, we think a lot may agree with the law as it is something which would certainly frustrate you if it went against your side, with nowhere else for Chalobah to put his arm.