Rangers were not fortunate to see the referee wave away a penalty shout against Malik Tilman on the weekend with the referee making the right decision.
This has been suggested by the former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher who has been speaking on Sky Sports’ latest Ref Watch segment.
The incident in question was the coming together between Tilman and Jamie McGrath inside the Gers box which saw the Dundee United man fall to the ground.
Giovanni van Bronckhorst’s men were cruising with a two-goal advantage at Ibrox on Saturday but then saw their advantage halved with a goal in the second half.
But Gallagher does not believe they should feel lucky to have seen the visitors’ penalty claim waved away by Kevin Clancy:
(0:05) “I think this is definitely not a penalty, this one. I think if you watch goes in, again, the players come together but for me no penalty.”
“Well, I think he gets the ball.”
TIF Thoughts on Gallagher’s comments…
We have to agree with Gallagher who pointed out that Tilman actually managed to get a foot on the ball as his right foot went across McGrath.
Was this the right decision?
However, it did look slightly clumsy in real-time so we would not have been surprised to see the referee point to the spot at the time.
But having looked back on the replays it definitely looks as if Tilman won the ball and you could argue the linesman has an even better view and he does not seem interested in the idea of awarding a penalty.