Newcastle United

Newcastle United: Chris Waugh drops shock VAR verdict after Bournemouth draw

Image for Newcastle United: Chris Waugh drops shock VAR verdict after Bournemouth draw

Chris Waugh has made a potentially shocking admission when it comes to the VAR decision Newcastle United benefited from last weekend while speaking on Pod on the Tyne.

Newcastle, for once this season, benefitted from a VAR decision as they were awarded a penalty while trailing at home to Bournemouth after referee Craig Pawson failed to spot Jefferson Lerma’s handball.

However, it could have been seen as quite a controversial one with the ball hitting Lerma on the leg before then rolling up and hitting him on the arm, although it was out of the way and thus, not in a natural position.

Waugh certainly believes that Newcastle got lucky with VAR this time around as he said:

“You mentioned the VAR decision earlier for this game, we’ll probably disagree again, but I didn’t think it was a penalty, I think it’s very very [difficult to give] even if it’s clear and obvious.

“Even if we don’t get into the debate which I will be right about, but even if we don’t get into that debate [about the VAR decision] as you say Newcastle didn’t create enough opportunities of their own.”

Did VAR wrongly award Newcastle a penalty?





TIF Thoughts on the VAR decision…

It’s very easy to see why the referee on the day didn’t give the penalty, but also easy to see why the VAR team deemed it a clear and obvious error given that Lerma’s arm was indeed outstretched from his body and stopped Kieran Trippier’s cross.

1 of 8

How well do you remember Newcastle's January transfer window? An easy one to start with: where did Newcastle sign Bruno Guimaraes from?

Some fans may well see this as decisions simply evening themselves out given that the Magpies have had a fair few contentious decisions go against them, none more obvious than the one at home to Crystal palace which the PGMOL confirmed was indeed the wrong decision.

However, it is interesting to hear Waugh suggest he disagrees with the decision which may hint toward the journalist feeling as if the Bournemouth ace did not intend for his hand to hit the ball.

Share this article