Date: 4th February 2021 at 1:45pm
Written by:

Pundit and player Charlie Adam has recently slammed Albian Ajeti for supposedly diving in Celtic’s recent game against Kilmarnock.

Adam appeared as a guest on the latest episode of PLZ Soccer’s The Football Show and the panel discussed multiple issues involving Scottish football. One topic of discussion was Celtic’s recent 4-0 win over Kilmarnock in the Premiership. Celtic’s second goal was a talking point, as Adam was asked if Ajeti had dived to win the penalty. Adam insisted that it was clearly a dive from the Swiss forward.

Scott Brown scored Celtic’s first goal, as he headed in from the corner in the first half. Ajeti won the penalty in the second half, allowing Odsonne Edouard to score from the spot and make it 2-0. The Frenchman scored another from open play and Ajeti later got the fourth goal himself to complete the rout (as per BBC Sport).

Did Ajeti con the referee against Kilmarnock

Yes

Yes

No

No

Adam had a lot of criticism for Ajeti and he believes that the striker ‘conned’ the referee into thinking that it was a penalty.

He said: “No, it wasn’t a penalty. It was a dive and the referee made a mistake, but Edouard stepped up and stuck it away. [Colin] Doyle knew straight away he never touched him and Ajeti, he’s conned the referee and he’s got away with it. We’ll look to see if there’s any action taken on that, and we’ll look forward to seeing the consistency in the game.”

1 of 10

Which club did Brown join Celtic from?

TIF Thoughts on Adam’s comments on Ajeti…

In the game against Kilmarnock, Ajeti picked up a rating of 8.46/10 (as per WhoScored), scoring with his only shot on target. He is currently valued at £4.05 million.

After the game, Kilmarnock caretaker boss James Fowler had expressed his frustration about two Celtic goals. He made it clear that the second goal shouldn’t have been a penalty and he felt that if the officials took some time in giving the spot-kick, it shows that it perhaps wasn’t the right call (as per Glasgow Times).

So clearly, Adam isn’t the only one to be criticising that penalty call and it remains to be seen if anything will be done about it.