Despite Leeds eventually running out comfortable 3-0 winners against Southampton on Tuesday evening, the South Coast side briefly appeared as if they had taken the lead late on in the first half of the fixture when Che Adams slotted home a quick James Ward-Prowse free-kick.
However, rather confusingly, referee Andre Marriner then ruled out the strike, claiming that he had not blown his whistle at the time Ward-Prowse played the ball into Adams.
And, when discussing the incident on a match reaction video for Leeds Live, Cross suggested that Southampton could feel slightly hard done by in seeing the goal ruled out, as the journalist claimed he clearly heard Marriner’s whistle.
He said: “There was obviously a lot of consternation around Andre Mariner blowing for a free-kick, and whether he did blow or not and Southampton taking it quickly and Che Adams scoring whilst Leeds were caught napping.
“Southampton, of course, complained about it [but] in the end it didn’t really matter too much. But, definitely some confusion there and I did hear Marriner blow the whistle, so I think there is definitely some debate to be had about the timing of it.”
Was Marriner right to rule Soton's goal out?
TIF Thoughts on Beren Cross’ comments regarding Che Adams’ disallowed goal…
Indeed, it appeared – when watching the fixture live – extremely debatable that Marriner had not blown his whistle prior to Ward-Prowse taking the free-kick, however, speaking to the official Southampton website, although stating his disappointment with the result and seeing his goal ruled out, Adams appeared to ultimately accept the referee’s call.
Furthermore, as Cross states, Leeds ran out comfortable winners in the fixture, rendering it rather pointless of Southampton having too many complaints regarding the decision.