Date: 31st December 2020 at 6:45pm
Written by:

Former Premier League referee Mark Halsey has issued his thoughts on Crystal Palace’s claim for a penalty in their recent draw with Leicester City. 

Speaking exclusively to This is Futbol, Halsey was quizzed on whether Roy Hodgson’s side should have been awarded a penalty, after the ball appeared to strike Daniel Amartey’s arm in the area.

Graham Scott didn’t award a spot-kick at the time, although Palace earned a point, even though Harvey Barnes cancelled out Wilfried Zaha’s opener on the day.

Halsey admitted that he was surprised to see Palace’s claim for a penalty turned down, and felt as though Leicester were fortunate to get away with Scott rejecting their appeals for a spot-kick.

“I was surprised when I saw it and, you know, it can be difficult for the referee to spot with they number of players and the arms up.

“When you put that arm in front of you and you move that on towards the ball that’s when it becomes for me a deliberate act and I think they were rather fortunate, Leicester, to get away with a with a handball.”

Crystal Palace are now sat 15th in the Premier League table, and are eight points clear of the relegation zone after their opening 16 matches of this year’s campaign.

They’ll feel aggrieved not to have been awarded the penalty though, as a win would have seen them end their four game winless run in the top-flight.

Roy Hodgson’s side are set to return to action on 2nd January, when they take on Sheffield United at Selhurst Park, in a match they’ll be expected to pick up three points from.

The Blades are yet to win a match this season, and already find themselves 11 points adrift of safety heading into the New Year.